Rainy Days

Standard

Have you ever had one of those days where you feel that just about everything you touch will somehow explode or break?  The last two days have been that way for me.  My family and I went on a great retreat to Myrtle Beach this past weekend.  Upon my return home, I realized I had forgotten to turn on the heat, and it was a balmy 62 degrees in our house.  While waiting for our house to warm up, I decided to do laundry.  I got one load done, and my dryer took a vacation.  I was frustrated, felt like I couldn’t do anything right, and was ready to just curl up in a ball and cry.  But, I pulled myself together and remembered one verse in the Bible that always comes to mind.  It’s Proverbs 14:1, and it reads:  “A wise woman builds her home, but the foolish woman tears it down with her own hands.”  (Proverbs 14:1, NIV) Whenever I begin to feel a little overwhelmed, or that I am failing my family in some way, shape or form, I turn to that verse in my mind, and actually HEAR that message in my head.  The wise woman doesn’t immediately freak out.  The wise woman doesn’t hang her head, and live in past mistakes.  The wise woman pushes forward, attempting to become the very best wife, mother, friend…whatever role you fulfill…fulfill it with everything in you.  It’s the foolish woman who lives with the hurts and mistakes of the past pinned to her chest like the scarlett letter in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s classic novel.  I don’t want to be that foolish woman, and will work a lot harder not to be…will you?

Leave a Reply

