Greater Love Has No One Than This…A Reflection Of Memorial Day

Standard

My family has quite a history with military service, going all the way back to the Revolutionary War.  Although it cannot be proven, a relative reportedly fought in the war to gain independence from England and then was buried at the historical site in Ticonderoga, New York.  Family members of mine still pay homage to this man each year.  My father served in the military in not one but two branches, I have served, my nephew and now my husband and son each serve.  Although my family has remained somewhat intact while serving, I cannot let this day pass without thinking of  family members elsewhere who endure this day, thinking about their son/husband/father/brother/etc., and the fact that they died while valiantly serving their country.  This is, indeed, a day to remember their sacrifices.  They put their lives in danger and ultimately lost them, fighting for a nation and a cause they believed in.   All throughout the years, there have been Americans who have donned their uniform proudly, putting everything else in their lives on hold, to serve this great nation of ours.  This is a day to pray for them, remember them, and shed a tear or two.  I know that I will.

During my bible study this morning, I came across a verse that touches me on a day like this- it’s John 15:13.  “Greater love no one has than this: to lay down one’s life for friends.”  While many of our fallen military members may not have been an intimate acquaintance, they became our friends because they were defending us from enemies that would have liked nothing better than to kill as many Americans as possible.  They put themselves in harm’s way to protect those of us they had never met, and did it willingly.  Men and women are still raising their right hands even today, taking the oath of enlistment, and swearing to defend all enemies, foreign and domestic.  They do this so that we can sleep at night without fear that our children will be dead before the sun rises again.  It is a day of reflection.  Please send a prayer up today for all those that now recline in Heaven, finally getting the rest that they didn’t get in the heat of battle.  Heavenly Father, please keep those that have fallen in battle safe.  Hold them close, and let them know that they are not forgotten.  I will personally NEVER forget those sacrifices.  You are all my heroes, and I cannot thank you enough for ensuring that I am free, and a citizen of the greatest country the world has ever known.  Bless them and the families left behind on this day.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

