Christmas Is Coming!

Standard

The season is once again upon us.  I  remember, before I was a Christian, I would see stickers and signs that said, “Jesus is the reason for the season.”  I would laugh, thinking the idea was quirky.  I am the first to admit that I have a long way to go as far as leading a Christ-like existence.  The Bible is specific about that, but I still resist, like an errant child.  I was thinking just the other day as I was hunting down boxes or ornaments, untangling lights, and listening to my ten year old daughter tell me about what she wanted for Christmas.  My thoughts meandered to the first Christmas.  Can you imagine how wonderful it was for those wise men to see that star in the sky, pointing the way to the newborn Christ child?  Just sit and ponder that fact.  That was the ultimate Christmas gift.  God told us, in that one selfless gift, “I love you so much that I am giving you my son.  I know that you will at first accept him, but then you will treat him much like you treat my word- with derision and disrespect.  I love you so much that I give you this gift anyway.  I want you all to follow me, and this is the one way that I can show you that.”  Think about that for a minute.  Ponder the fact that the Christmas story, and so many people along the way who have turned to Him.

Somewhere along the way, we have lost that simplicity.  We find ourselves getting caught up in finding the perfect gift, the best bargains, and the best recipes.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s great to celebrate the season, and it’s a wonderful idea to exchange gifts.  But it’s what is at the heart of the season…the celebration of the birth of the kindest, most perfect man the world has ever known…that’s why this holiday exists.  It sickens me to the very core to see how different groups try to repress that belief.  I cannot understand how the rights of those that are offended by crosses and nativity scenes can come before the basic right to celebrate Christ’s birth.  It hurts me that this great nation has come to this.  So…please…let’s all work together and put the Savior back into the picture.  Remind everyone that is why they are scurrying about. Don’t be afraid of offending people with your beliefs.  Let’s all work to get back to the simplicity of the season.

This morning, I read a great blog about much the same thing.  you can find it at the following link:  http://www.untanglingchristmas.org/

It’s a great read, and will remind you as it did me…that Christ came for all of us.  God bless!

 

Leave a Reply

