The Jolly Green Giant And Useless Feelings

Standard

ImageOne of my all-time favorite movies is “The Prophecy,”  starring Christopher Walken.  The premise of the movie is that the angel Gabriel comes to earth and tries to wipe out humanity in a jealous rage.  This movie has unnerved me from the first moment that I saw it.  The one line that made shivers travel up my spine:  “Little Tommy Daggett…how I loved listening to your sweet prayers every night.  Then you’d jump in your bed, so afraid I was under there.  And I was…”  Just think about that line for a minute.  It sounds crazy, doesn’t it?  The truth is, it is  actually a very accurate statement.  Satan is always at the ready, feeding us a constant hors’ deuvre diet of jealousy, anger, greed, and any other little tidbit he can push into our mouths without us looking.  I fall victim to jealousy quite a bit.  Truth be told, I am a very jealous person, and that extends to nearly everything that I do.  I am always worried that someone else is getting more than me, or a better quality.  This feeling extends to people for me, as well as “plain objects.”  This, my friends, is a sad fact.   It doesn’t make it right, and I can offer up no conveniently pat excuses, diminishing my poor thought patterns.

It’s never easy to admit that you are jealous or angry, or anything else.  However, you have to take it for what it is – a negative emotion, and one that truly has no place in your life.  There is one Bible verse that puts this whole thing into perspective for me:  “For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice.”  (James 3:16)  This is the simplest verse that I could find that sums up how these emotions affect my life.  Do I want Satan to win that battle?  Obviously not, but my mere “humanness” can’t erase that fact, no matter how many times I scrub at the marks.  Jealousy and selfish ambition are all tools that are used against our faith.  It’s up to us how we respond to these feelings.

These useless emotions remind me of an evil Jolly Green Giant, towering over everything that is good.  I have every intention of pushing back when Satan tries to sell me on these useless feelings.  Will you join me in this?

Leave a Reply

