Pride Goeth Before The Fall, Right?

Standard

Above all else, I am a mother.  It is a role that defines me, and has shaped who I am.  I have made a lot of mistakes in this role along the way, but at least I can hold my head up high and say that I was “in the trenches,” doing what it took.  I love my children dearly, but they most certainly can get on my nerves.  I might not like criticism, but I get it on a regular basis.  My husband can be my biggest fan, and my largest critic.  Do I get angry when he finds fault?  Of course I do.  Do I always handle it well?  Not really.  It’s never easy to hear how you’ve messed up.  I have tried to take it all with a grain of salt (so to speak) but after a while, it does irritate me.   I prayed about this today, because I have felt that all he does is criticize me.  I found one Bible verse that defines how these two roles play out in my daily life:  Luke 17:3 states:  “So watch yourself.  If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him.” 

I don’t like the fact that I get criticized.  No one does, really.  But if I am to improve, then I certainly need criticism in order to do that.  I think, in all honesty, that the main reason I turn into a banty rooster when my husband finds fault is in direct relation to my pride.  However, there is an old saying that fits in that case, too.  “Pride goeth before the fall.” 

I think most of humanity feels that way.  There are days where we think that in our spouse’s eyes, there is nothing good that we have done.  On the other side of the coin, there will always be days where we will find fault with people. Familiarity breeds contempt,, right?  Wrong.  It doesn’t have to be that way.  We can and should take the criticisms that we are handed, and try to look at them objectively.  Does the other person have a valid point?  If so, what changes could be made to make that other person (and those affected) feel better?  These are questions that I will ask myself whenever I am told that I am doing something wrong.  I have to get rid of this intense pride that I have when it comes to this situation.

  Proverbs 16:18-19 gives me instruction on this little “pride issue” that I carry around like a monkey on my back – it says “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.  Better to be lowly in spirit and among the oppressed than to share plunder with the proud.”  This means that if we are humble, admit our mistakes and learn from them (even if they are pointed out), then we are that much better off than the people who think that they make no mistakes. 

The Bible is a great start when it comes to figuring out what you have done wrong, and how you can rectify it.  It is ageless, and always has relevant information, even for a prideful sinner like me.

Leave a Reply

