Ch-Ch-Changes!

Standard

There are many changes on the horizon for my family and myself.  My husband will be leaving military service after nine years, and we still aren’t sure where we will be residing.  But, that’s okay.  We’ll eventually figure it out.  There’s one thing that I have learned after all this time dealing with the military- both as a member, and as a dependent, is that when it comes to the military, it is all a waiting game.  We’ll eventually figure it out.

I will say one thing…I am rather excited to find a church home.  I really do want to raise my children in the church, and show them what values are important to me.  I can only hope as they grow and mature that they find the same values important in their own lives.  Some of the best support that I have ever gotten in my life has been from a church family, and that is something that I want again.

On the moving front, I never realized how much “stuff” I owned until I actually started throwing away some of this “stuff.”  I found myself contemplating with each black plastic bag filled…how did I acquire all this junk?  Why did I let it get this way?  I guess, looking back, I was always under the assumption that I would need that stuff someday.  However, if I haven’t opened a bag or a box in nine years, chances are, I won’t need that stuff ever again.  So…off to the donation box it goes.   It made me wonder, though…when did I become so wrapped up in my “things” rather than who I am?  I am taking some time in between this move to spend time at home with my parents in upstate New York.  There is nothing better than fall in New York- all those brilliant colors, the crisp air, and the good comfort food.  Fall is by far my favorite time of year, and I can’t think of a better way for God to show me what I am missing out in my daily life than by reminding me of the beauty that He has placed in nature.  All the colors of the leaves this time of year at home are enough to take my breath away.  I am hoping to take just a little time to look around me, and appreciate all that I have in my life.  The people in my life, and the lessons that they have taught me along the way…those lessons are valuable, and have made me a better person.  I have a long way to go, and hopefully this time at home will help me in my journey.

Leave a Reply

