“Shut Your Face!”

Standard

Be still

Admit it, going through the Bible, we all have verses that speak to us more than others.  I am no exception to this, and mine is pictured within this post.  It’s Psalms 46:10- “Be still and know that I am God.”  I have stated previously that I am a chronic worrier.  I worry about what will happen to me in the coming months.  How will I change as a person?  I want it to be a good change, but how can I know for sure that I will finally be rid of the anger that seems to overtake me at the worst possible times?  When you are a person that wears their heart on their sleeve, it’s very easy to be hurt and hold onto that hurt.  Especially if it’s someone that you really love that hurts you to the core.  In times like that, I am working very hard at remembering this verse, and putting it to work in my life.  Just think about that verse for a second- “Be still and know that I am God.”  To me, that verse says, “Yes, things are hard right now.  Yes, I know you are hurting, but please remember, my dear child- I am always here for you, and I am always ready to catch you when you fall.  You’re human, and you WILL fall.  But I am God, and I DO NOT FALL.  I am full of unending grace, and I am always in charge.  You just have to listen to me.”

Sometimes it’s easier to worry than to place it in God’s hands.  We tend to forget from time to time that God is indeed in control, and He wants us all to “just listen.”  As a parent, I have said that phrase more often than I’d care to admit.  “Just stop and listen to me for a second!”  We can’t forget that in the grand scheme of things, we are God’s children, and that He is telling us the same thing.  God always has a message for us, we just need to take a second and think about two things:  1) What is the message, and 2) How can I put that message to work for me?  In my case, the message is the fact that no matter how much I might not like the current state of my life, God is still in control.  I have to allow God to take the reigns, and I have to stop and finally figure out what He is telling me.  How can I put that message to work in my life?  For starters, I need to stop trying to manufacture my own destiny.  I started that by praying about what I should do for a job, and I have to say, that since I have allowed God to take control, things are falling into place a lot better than when I was trying to do my own thing.

I know that things will get a lot harder before they get easier, and I’m okay with that.  I have been through a lot in my life.  I will not allow adversity to make me curl up in a ball and wish my life were over.  There are a lot of things in my life that are good, and that is what I need to keep in mind when I start to feel sorry for myself.  Sometimes, just taking a second to count the blessings (even the small ones) and to listen to what God has to say in your life can make all the difference.

So, for today- here’s a brief list of what I am thankful for:

* My children- They’re great kids, every single one.  They’re all unique, beautiful, and “fearfully and wonderfully made.”

* A good cup of coffee- Never underestimate that fragrant goodness in the early morning hours.  It sometimes makes my whole day.

* Good friends who care- No matter what turns my life might take, I still have some great friends who always try to be there for me.  During a divorce, your friends will get you through this a lot easier than trying to lean on the person that is divorcing you.

* My faith- I might fall from time to time, but I always have faith in God.  He has made me a much better person.

* My readers- I might not have a lot of faithful readers, but there are some, and for you- thank you.  You give me another reason to get up each day, and pour my heart out in a situation where most people are trying to be quiet.  I know that there are people out there going through the same thing, and I want to be there for you as much as you are for me.

So…the moral of the story:  Be quiet, have a good cup of coffee, and look around.  Find something to be thankful for, even in the face of the worst possible time in your life.  I can guarantee that if you are quiet and listen, you’ll find a message from God in that quiet time.  I know that when I can finally “shut my face,”  I usually find a message from my Heavenly Father, floating out there.

6 responses »

  1. Sue! I love reading your blog. I’m so incredibly sorry for this divorce, but I want you to know that you writing about it is helping me know how to help friends in similar situations. God uses your vulnerability and honesty, and I love what you said about letting your friends minister to you instead of waiting for the one who is leaving to do it. God does indeed provide, and once we can realize it’s not always through whom we thought it would be, we are freed up to receive. Love your honesty, your openness, your ability to write it out, your “shutting your face” (I need to shut mine too), and your references to coffee….big shoutout there! Amen to this: “You’re human, and you WILL fall. But I am God, and I DO NOT FALL.”

    • Thank you so much, Bonnie. I am glad that I can give others the tools to help people in this situation. I might not have a lot of money or fame, but I will always have my honesty, even if it gets me into trouble from time to time!

  2. . . . and last but not least, a sister that adores you. Sue, you are beautiful inside and out. God does have a plan for you He just takes His own time — patience is a virtue, sweet Sis.

  3. LOVE it. 🙂 My favorite verse as well!! Probably because I suck at being still, and God knows it! BUT- I swear I hear Him best when I am still ‘in my mind’. Of course. Duh. How does He get a word in when I talk over Him all the time? But I’ve learned to be still, even more as I age. The silence is my solace. And His Presence can be ‘heard’. 🙂

    So…the moral of the story: Be quiet, have a good cup of coffee, and look around. <—THIS!!!

    • Indeed! I think my “listening skills” have been improving as I age, as well. I have always been a talker, and listening has never been my strong suit. As I seem to recall, I had a report card in elementary school that said I was “an excessive talker.” I get it!

Leave a Reply

